National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics (NCVHS)

Hearing on NCPDP Standards Updates

Virtual Hearing
9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Monday, March 26, 2018

Printable Acrobat Agenda

Hearing Purpose

The purpose of this hearing is to seek input from the health care industry regarding the updated versions of the National Council for Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) standards – specifically, version F2 and use of the updated subrogation standard between all payers. The Committee intends to obtain information from industry regarding costs and benefits, business need and mitigation of burden.

Final Agenda

Unless otherwise specified, each testifier will have 7 minutes to present key points
followed by Committee Q & A.

Written testimony is requested to supplement oral testimony and is welcomed from any other individual or organization who is not presenting.


9:00 – 9:15 a.m. Welcome and Introductions


Alix Goss and Nick Coussoule

Co-Chairs, Standards Subcommittee

9:15 – 9:45 a.m. Background of request for F2 and subrogation


Margaret Weiker, NCPDP

Annette Gabel, NCPDP SNIP Co-chair

Comments from DSMO Chair Jean Narcisi, ADA, DSMO Chair




9:45–10:25 a.m. Session A: Pharmacies (45 minutes)


Erica Brown

Sharon Gruttadauria

Christian Tadrus

Cathy Graeff


Lisa Schwartz

Darren Townzen

Gary Schoettmer


Committee Q&A


CVS Health

Sams Health Mart (independent Rx)

National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS)


National Community Pharmacists





10:25–10:35 a.m. Break  


10:35–11:25 a.m. Session B: Payers and PBMs (60 Minutes)


Frank Annecchini

Jose Tieso

Michael Safreno

Kathy Knapp

Jon Paladino

Laurie Littlecreek


Committee Q&A


DXC (DE Medicaid)

CVS Health – Payer

DST Pharmacy Solutions

Prime Therapeutics

ExpressScripts (tentative)



11:30–12:10 p.m. Session C: Clearinghouses and Vendors (45 minutes)


Patrick Harris

Leann Lewis

Kevin Crowe

Laurie Schaeffer


Committee Q&A







12:10–12:30 p.m. Discussion


12:30–1:30 p.m. Lunch


PART 2 NCPDP Subrogation (35 minutes)


1:30 – 2:05 p.m. Bill Shircliff

Shelly Winston Medicare Part D

Colleen Palmer

Andrea Kent

Patrick Tighe

Margaret Hoffeditz


Committee Q&A

Rawlings Company

Medicare Part D

DST Pharmacy Solutions


Ohio Medicaid

CA Department of Health Care



2:05 – 3:20 p.m. Discussion


3:20– 3:25 p.m. Public Comment


Rebecca Hines

NCVHS Executive Secretary/DFO


3:30 p.m. Concluding Remarks & Adjournment Alix Goss and Nick Coussoule

Co-Chairs, Standards Subcommittee